Profile

How to choose a WordPress theme (theme)? What is the difference between different themes? Which theme is good?

Search
Choosing a WordPress Theme
Article List
Article List

Write this article is to help you read how to choose a WordPress theme, theme (theme) is the foundation and premise of the WordPress site. Choose a suitable high-quality WordPress theme can make building a station with half the effort, if you use the theme is not suitable for the site will greatly reduce the effect. Write this article is to let newcomers understand the role of the theme and how to choose the right theme.

Build a station WeChat group often discuss which theme is better, the views are not the same. Many white will not use feel that this theme is not good, that theme is not good, change to change, effort is not pleasing. In fact, if you understand the role of the theme and their own needs, it is easy to choose a quality theme for themselves.

 

What is a Wordpress theme?

It is very easy to build a website using Wordpress, and after spending a few minutes installing the Wordpress program, a simple website is basically built. There is a backend and a front-end, can access, can write articles. But build out the site is very simple, very few features can only be used to do a simple blog, can be understood as a rough house.

Wordpress theme is actually a folder which contains some code and files that serve to beautify the websiteAppearance, add websiteFunction. Just built Wordpress website is equivalent to a rough house, Wordpress theme is actually equivalent to a set of renovation solutions: change the appearance of the site, increase the functionality of the site.

The house has to be renovated before you can move in, so you have to install a theme. The functionality of different themes and the degree of customization of the appearance are different and vary greatly, so we must choose the right theme for our needs.

What is the difference between theme and plugin? We think there is no difference, the theme can achieve the basic plug-ins can be achieved. 2 are mainly focused on different, the theme is mainly responsible for some basic and essential functions, such as font settings, add LOGO, Favicon and so on. And plug-ins are mainly to enhance the personalized features.

 

What are the general categories of Wordpress themes?

Before choosing a theme, you must understand what are the features and advantages of this theme, the theme that meets your needs is the best theme. We feel that there are about 3 types of themes according to their focus: functional, speed, and design.

Functional themes have powerful all features, a theme can top 5 plug-ins. For example, Woomart theme, suitable for multi-category merchandise mall website, comes with excellent super menu features. If you want to do a super multi-category merchandise site can consider it.

Performance themes are performance and speed oriented, such as Astra, GeneratePress themes. Lightweight, fast speed, comes with some speed optimization features. Generally it is the technicians who like to DIY deep website building will use performance-based themes. They generally need to be used with a page builder or come with a page builder.

Design theme is mainly good-looking, different from person to person, generally niche but also very special. For example, a member asked if there is a xx theme for sale, and he wanted to use it to make a photo photography website, and he was interested in the template design of the theme as well as the effect of the photo slide show.

 

How to choose a WordPress theme?

We have used a lot of themes, no theme can be compatible with all aspects at the same time. Powerful and comprehensive means heavy code and high threshold for use. Fast, good performance means less functionality, page / template design is often general. Suitable is the best, first think clearly about their own needs, and then according to the needs of the popular theme to find the right on the line.

1- One of the first things you must consider when choosing a theme is how you plan to build the page? Will you use Elementor or the Gutenberg editor or the builder that comes with the theme? Will you use the theme's templates directly? This is very important to know how to pick a theme once you have thought about it.

Avada, Bricks and other themes come with their own development of page builder (not Gutenberg nor Elementor), GeneratePress and other themes come with Gutenberg page builder, and Astra Pro and other themes do not have a page builder only a simple header footer building capabilities.

Elementor page builder is powerful, easy to operate, strong extension, high efficiency, in addition to the slow point are advantages. Gutenberg editor is just the opposite, in addition to the speed of other aspects are not as good as Elementor, not good to use the site efficiency and low, fewer features.

Avada and other self-developed page builders are even worse in terms of functionality and compatibility, and may not necessarily be as fast as Elementor. Oxygen builder is fast and powerful, but the threshold for using it is high and compatibility and ecology are not good enough for the time being.

If you're going to build pages with Elementor, don't pick a theme like Avada or GeneratePress with a homegrown page builder. Otherwise the functionality of these themes is just for show, and the front-end containing self-builder code will slow things down.

At this time, you should choose a theme like Astra Pro, fast and can be used perfectly with Elementor. We strongly recommend the use of Elementor to build the page, because the operation is simple, powerful, efficient, and many extensions plug-ins, it can be said that there is no Elementor do not come out of the site.

Elementor speed can be optimized, don't worry. We use Elementor to do the website Google speed test computer side 100 points, loaded in 1 second. Mobile 90 points or more, loaded in 2 seconds.

 

2- Choose a theme also need to take into account the functionality of the page and the use of plug-ins compatibility issues. For example, if you want to make a website with product filtering, the product list page needs to do very complex product filtering (e.g. filtering based on price, color, size, parameters, etc.). Which plugin are you going to use to implement this feature?

For example, if you intend to use theJetSmartFiltersand other plugins, can only be used with Elementor, Gutenberg editor, can not be used with Avada and other themes that come with the editor. Selection of the theme should also take into account the subsequent plug-in compatibility, expansion.

A good friend usesBricks ThemeBuilt the site with its own page builder and the speed was good. One day he reached out to me saying that using TranslatePress was causing very slow speeds and disabling recovery. After testing, I found out that it was Bricks theme is not quite compatible with the translation plugin at the moment, and it's still in the process of being adapted.

Pasted 19

2021.01.07 Update: A few more theme compatibility issues have been encountered. Customers chose a very small niche theme, the results with a lot of plug-ins do not match the functionality of the anomaly. Don't use those niche themes, what you want can be realized through the plugin. The team behind the niche theme is only 1-3 people, there is not enough productivity to adapt plug-ins, compatibility is hard.

1704596598005

1704596627446

 

3- Selection of the theme also needs to take into account the limitations of the theme. The more you optimize, the more limited you become, and mediocrity is the taste of the masses. We can not want certain things, but we should know what we can not get. Some themes are very restrictive and not very scalable.

For exampleShoptimizerTheme, it is fast because there is only one template a design, and comes with commonly used features (no need to install plug-ins to achieve). People specialize in specific designs and features to optimize, so it is fast and high conversion rate, but this leads to only use its design and features.

If you are not satisfied with the design and functionality of the Shoptimizer theme and install other plugins on your own instead, it will greatly reduce the speed and conversion rate. There would be no need to use Shoptimizer theme at all.

There is also a domestic Factory theme, the design is relatively good-looking, fast, a few more well-known domestic sites have resold this theme. Our research found that this theme does not use Woocommerce plug-ins to achieve commodity functions, so fast, but the limitations are also large.

It all Woocommerce-related plug-ins can not be used, Woocommerce has become an ecosystem, WordPress to build e-commerce site without Woocommerce, then may even receive money is a problem.

So Factory theme is not suitable for retail e-commerce sites, nor is it suitable for complex 2B sites. For example, if I want to realize the function of product filtering or posting new products to Pinterest account automatically, Woocommerce website has ready-made plug-ins to realize it. But Factory theme, you have to write your own code to realize.

 

4- Theme selection also needs to take into account the threshold of useThe target user group of each theme is different. For example, GeneratePress, Woodmart and other themes are mainly oriented to developers, white people are very difficult to use good and too much trouble. They can use good, can make the effect is meaningful.

1704596598005 1

 

5- Choose only premium and popular themesThe internet is changing rapidly, so you must choose a theme that is popular and high qualitycover the costsTheme that is stable and up to date, fixes bugs in a timely manner, is compatible, and has excellent customer service support.

The freedom of WordPress has resulted in plugins and themes of varying quality that are difficult to coordinate. It is common for themes to have bugs or conflict with certain plugins, and quality themes mean good customer support. Problems can be solved by contacting customer service, and you can also find many solutions on the Internet.

Niche cold theme once the problem may be disastrous, free theme author is not very happy to spend time to deal with, may not be able to contact the theme author. Paid theme authors are not necessarily happy to care, may be 1-2 people part-time theme care, problems can only be self-inflicted.

Free themes or niche paid themes are basically unprofitable or even money-losing, and the team behind them is usually only 1-3 people. The authors produce these themes more for hobby purposes, and the project may suddenly become unsustainable and cut off.

WordPress versions, plugins, PHP versions and the like are always being upgraded, and themes need to be updated all the time to continue to work. So be sure to pick a paid premium popular theme, we recommendAstra Pro.

End

Article out of date? Have a better opinion? Have a question? Please leave your comments below and we will follow up.

Recommended Articles.
Comments :

发表评论

The email address will not be disclosed, and the URL needs to be removed from https://前缀 for insertion.

Chat
  • WeChat Service
Quick login without registration

Enter your username and password to log in

Have no account? Forgot password?

个人中心

如何选择WordPress主题(theme)?不同主题有啥区别?哪个主题好?

搜索
选择WordPress主题
文章目录
文章目录

写这篇文章是为了帮大家判读如何选择WordPress主题,主题(theme)是WordPress建站的基础和前提。选择一个合适的优质WordPress主题能让建站事半功倍,如果使用了不合适的主题网站效果会大打折扣。写这篇文章是为了让新手了解主题的作用以及如何选择合适的主题。

建站微信群里经常有人讨论哪个主题比较好,意见不一。很多小白不会使用觉得这个主题不好,那个主题不好,换来换去,吃力不讨好。其实如果明白主题的作用和自己需求,很容易能选出适合自己的优质主题。

 

什么是Wordpress主题?

使用Wordpress建站非常容易,花几分钟安装完Wordpress程序后,一个简单的网站基本就搭建完毕。有后台有前端,能访问,能写文章。不过搭建出来的网站非常简陋,功能很少只能拿来做简单博客,可以理解为毛坯房。

Wordpress主题其实就是一个文件夹,它里面包含了一些代码和文件,作用是美化网站外观、增加网站功能。刚搭建好的Wordpress网站相当于毛坯房,Wordpress主题其实就相当于是一套装修方案:改变网站外观、增加功能。

房子得装修后才能入住,所以网站必须得安装主题。不同主题的功能以及对外观的自定义程度都不一样,差别巨大,我们一定要根据自己需求选择合适的主题。

主题和插件有啥区别?我们觉得没区别,主题能实现的插件基本都能实现。2者主要是侧重点不一样,主题主要负责一些基础又必备的功能,例如字体、颜色设置,添加LOGO、Favicon等。而插件主要是增强个性化功能。

 

Wordpress主题大概分为哪几种?

选择一个主题之前一定要了解这个主题的特点和优势是什么,符合自己需求的主题才是最好的主题。我们觉得主题按侧重点分大概有3种:功能型、性能型、设计型。

功能型主题拥有强大全部功能,一个主题能顶5个插件。例如Woomart主题,适合做多种类商品商城网站,自带有优秀超级菜单功能等。如果你要做一个拥有超多品类的商品网站可以考虑下它。

性能型主题以性能和速度为主,例如Astra、GeneratePress主题。轻量化、速度飞快、自带一些速度优化功能。一般是喜欢DIY深度建站的技术人员会使用性能型主题。它们一般需要搭配页面构建器使用或者自带页面构建器。

设计型主题主要是好看,因人而异,一般偏小众可是又很特别。例如之前有个会员问问有没有xx主题售卖,想拿来做图片摄影网站,看中主题自带的模板设计以及图片幻灯片展示效果。

 

如何选择WordPress主题?

我们使用过很多主题,没有任何一个主题能同时兼容方方面面。功能强大全面就意味着代码繁杂,使用门槛高。速度快、性能好意味着功能少,页面/模板设计往往一般。合适才是最好的,先想清楚自己的需求,再根据需求找合适的热门主题就行。

1- 选主题首先必须要考虑的一点是你打算如何构建页面?是用Elementor还是用古腾堡编辑器,亦或者用主题自带的构建器?直接用主题的模板?这点非常重要,想清楚后就知道怎么挑选主题。

Avada,Bricks等主题自带自己研发的页面构建器(不是古腾堡也不是Elementor),GeneratePress等主题自带古腾堡页面构建器,而Astra Pro之类主题没有页面构建器只有简单的页眉页脚搭建功能。

Elementor页面构建器强大,容易操作,扩展强,建站效率高,除了速度慢点都是优点。古腾堡编辑器刚好相反,除了速度快其它方面都比不上Elementor,不好用建站效率又低,功能少。

Avada之类自家研发的页面构建器功能和兼容性之类就更差了,速度可能还不一定有Elementor快。我们一般不使用。Oxygen构建器速度快功能也强大,可是使用门槛高兼容性和生态暂时不够好。

如果你要用Elementor搭建页面,就不要选Avada或GeneratePress之类带自家研发的页面构建器主题。不然的话这些主题的功能只是摆设,而且前端含有自带构建器代码会减慢速度。

此时应该选择Astra Pro之类主题,速度快,可以完美搭配Elementor使用。我们大力推荐使用Elementor构建页面,因为操作简易,功能强大,效率高,还有很多扩展插件,可以说没有Elementor做不出来的网站。

Elementor速度可以优化,不要担心。我们使用Elementor做的网站谷歌测速电脑端100分,1秒内加载完。手机端90分以上,2秒内加载完。

 

2- 选主题还需要考虑到页面功能以及所使用插件兼容性问题。例如你要做一个带产品筛选功能的网站,产品列表页需要做很复杂的产品筛选功能(例如根据价格,颜色,尺寸,参数等进行筛选)。你打算用哪个插件实现这个功能?

例如你打算使用JetSmartFilters等插件,只能跟Elementor、谷腾堡编辑器一起使用,不能和Avada等主题自带的编辑器一起使用。选主题也要考虑到后续插件兼容、扩展情况。

有个好朋友使用Bricks主题建站,自带页面构建器,速度也不错。有一天他找到我说使用TranslatePress导致速度非常慢,禁用恢复。检测后发现是Bricks主题目前不太兼容翻译插件,还在适配中。

Pasted 19

2021.01.07更新:又遇到几个主题兼容时间。客户选了很小众偏门的主题,结果跟很多插件不匹配功能异常。真的别用那些偏门小众主题,想要什么效果可以通过插件实现。小众主题背后团队只有1-3个人,根本没足够生产力去适配插件,兼容性是硬伤。

1704596598005

1704596627446

 

3- 选主题还需要考虑到主题的局限性。优化越多,局限性就越大,平庸才是大众口味。我们可以不要某些东西,可是应该知悉自己不能得到什么。有些主题限制很大,没啥扩展性。

例如Shoptimizer主题,它速度快是因为只有一个模板一种设计,而且自带常用功能(无需安装插件实现)。人家专门针对特定的设计和功能去优化,所以速度快,转化率也高,可是这导致只能用它的设计和功能。

如果你对Shoptimizer主题的设计和功能不满意,自己安装其它插件代替,会大大降低速度和转化率。就完全没必要使用Shoptimizer主题。

有个国产Factory主题,设计比较好看,速度快,国内几个比较知名的网站也有转卖这个主题。我们研究发现这个主题不使用Woocommerce插件实现商品功能,因此速度快,可是局限性也大。

它所有Woocommerce相关的插件都无法使用,Woocommerce已经成为一个生态系统,WordPress搭建电商网站不用Woocommerce的话可能连收款都是个问题。

所以Factory主题不适合拿来做零售电商网站,也不适合做复杂的2B网站。例如我想实现产品筛选或者发布新品自动转发到Pinterest账号的功能,Woocommerce网站有现成插件可以实现。可是Factory主题的话得自己手写代码实现。

 

4- 选主题还需要考虑到使用门槛,每个主题的目标用户群体不一样。例如GeneratePress,Woodmart之类主题主要面向开发者,小白很难用好也嫌麻烦。自己能用好,能做出效果才有意义。

1704596598005 1

 

5- 只选优质热门主题。互联网日新月异,选主题一定要选热门优质付费主题,稳定更新、及时修复Bug、兼容性好、有优秀客服支持。

WordPress的自由导致了插件、主题质量参差不齐,很难协调。主题有Bug或者跟某些插件冲突是很常有的事情,优质主题意味着有良好的客服支持。出问题可以联系客服解决,也可以在互联网找到很多解决方法。

小众冷门主题一旦出问题可能是灾难性的,免费主题人家作者不太乐意花时间处理,可能都联系不到主题作者。付费主题人家作者也不一定乐意理,可能就1-2个人兼职打理主题,出问题只能自求多福。

免费主题或者小众付费主题基本不赚钱甚至亏钱,背后团队通常只有1-3个人。作者制作这些主题更多是以爱好为目的,可能项目突然就无以为继中断。

WordPress版本、插件、PHP版本之类一直在升级,主题也需要一直更新才能继续使用。所以一定要选付费的优质热门主题,我们推荐Astra Pro

End

文章过时?有更好看法?有疑问?请在下方评论留言,我们会及时跟进。

推荐文章:
评论 :

发表评论

邮箱不会被公开,插入网址需去掉https://前缀。

免注册快速登陆

输入用户名密码登录

没有账号? 忘记密码?